SITE DESIGNED & MAINTAINED BY BERES4D WEB - PHOTOS BY WWW.P2PNORTHERNPHOTOS .CO.UK ALL CONTENTS COPYRIGHT  FRIARSHAUGHRACES 2012


Friars Haugh Kelso.

Left handed mainly flat track with tight turn and stiff climb after fence 7/14 which is followed
by a long 'freewheel'to fence 9/16.
Races finish in a separate chute which includes one fence and a run-in of 150 yards.

Friars Haugh hosts three point to point race meetings throughout the point to point season, The Jedforest, The Duke of Buccleuch and The Berwickshire.

Track History

First used in 1953 by pairing of The Duke of Buccleuch & Jedforest Hunts.
In 1990 The Duke of Buccleugh & Jedforest divided and held separate meetings.
The Berwickshire Hunt held their first fixture here in the early 1960's following their split from the
Border Hunts which was a joint affair with The North Northumberland Hunt.
They parted when The North Northumberland Hunt decided they had ample income from Fenton Horse Trials,
which was a big concern of theirs at the time.

( Courtesy of  McNulty Bros.)


Left: The hill in the centre of the course at Friars Haugh provides a natural grandstand from which the action can be watched
Right: Runners pass along the riverside stretch of the course, with Kelso in the background
Left: A winner returns with the picturesque
backdrop of  Floors Castle.